The XVI RPC Workshop will be held at CERN in the main Auditorium from the 26th to the 30th of September. 

The workshop will continue a long tradition of scientific meetings, originated in Lecce in 1991 and continued with biannual appointments in Roma, Pavia, Napoli, Bari, Coimbra, Clermont-Ferrand, Seoul, Mumbai, Darmstadt, Frascati, Beijing, Ghent, Puerto Vallarta and Roma. 

This edition aims to acknowledge the fundamental role of CERN in detector technologies for the worldwide community of particle physicists. 

The RPC detection techniques were largely employed in elementary particle and astro-particle experiments. The workshop will focus on both the performance and possible upgrade scenarios of large RPC systems as well as applications outside the particle physics context.

The most challenging questions in physics are now related to the search for dark matter, long lived particles, astro-particle physics, and physics at high energy colliders. This calls for new challenges in detector layout, front end electronics, materials, gas mixtures, aging and new ideas for improving the detector’s performance in the domain of rate capability and space-time resolution. 

The workshop will have invited reviews and selected contributions, as well as a poster session. 

In agreement with the recent CERN council resolution of strong condemnation of the military invasion of Ukraine by the Russian Federation and in support of the Ukraine scientific community, the conference committee will make available financial support  for  Ukraine detector physicists who would like to join the workshop.  

Statement of the CERN Council

“The 23 Member States of CERN reiterate their condemnation, in the strongest terms, of the military invasion of Ukraine by the Russian Federation and strongly condemn the statements by those Russian institutes that have expressed support for the illegal invasion of Ukraine. The CERN Council emphasised that the unprovoked and premeditated attack on Ukraine has caused widespread loss of life and a humanitarian crisis”

Registration and call for abstracts will open soon.

Organizing committees

International  Advisory Committee

Stefano Bianco, INFN Frascati, Italy

Roberto Cardarelli, INFN Roma Tor V., Italy

Ingo Deppner, Heidelberg Univ., Germany

Alessandro Ferretti, INFN Torino, Italy

Paulo Fonte, LIP Coimbra, Portugal

Diego Gonzalez-Diaz, IGFAE, Spain

Giuseppe Iaselli, Politecnico di Bari and INFN, Italy

Barbara Liberti, INFN Roma Tor V., Italy

Henry Lubatti, WA Univ., USA

Naba K. Mondal, TIFR, India

Eraldo Oliveri, CERN, Switzerland

Alessandro Paoloni, INFN Frascati, Italy

Rinaldo Santonico, Univ. Roma Tor V. and INFN, Italy

Kyong Sei Lee,  Seoul Univ., Korea

Archana Sharma, CERN, Switzerland

Michael Tytgat, Univ. Ghent, Belgium

Crispin Williams, CERN, Switzerland

Local Organizing Committee

Giulio Aielli, Univ. Roma Tor V. and INFN, Italy

Roberto Guida, CERN, Switzerland

Ludovico Pontecorvo, CERN, Switzerland

Gabriella Pugliese, Politecnico di Bari and INFN, Italy


Olga Christou, CERN

Tania Pardo, CERN

Connie Potter, CERN